July 14th
Blackburn AT Center
Mile 1007.1

I walked 11 miles.
The procrastination is strong within me today. I made the rest of my coffee and doodled in the log book for at least an hour.

July 20th
Mile 1068.8

Pennsylvania!!
We covered 13.2 miles today. Helen’s longest day so far. We got to this shelter and stayed when the caretakers gave us red delicious apples and cold coca-colas.
An older woman, Dot from Zimbabwe, inspired us to talk about goals. We met her when we stopped for lunch. She has been section hiking for quite a few years and we had the most pleasant conversation with her. We posed for a picture before we left and talked about her for the rest of the day.

Ramen noodles, instant mashed potatoes, Connie’s Hot Dayum spice mix and sriracha. Puppy chow and “pill capsules” to keep us going and she is keeping my pace.

July 23rd
Center Point Knob
Mile 1114.5

20 miles today. Helen was driven to the DC airport this morning by a dude we met hitchhiking. It was wonderful having her on the trail, but I’m ready to be back in normal routine. My eye was almost swollen shut this morning. A bad allergic reaction that I won’t let hinder my hiking…
I passed the half gallon challenge point in the morning and only ate half a pint of mint chocolate chip ice cream at the Pine Grove Furnace general store. I almost didn’t stop, but to ask for some Benadryl.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/59a/14709963/files/2015/01/img_0011.jpg

tell me about it